April 17, 2024, 11:34:11 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Two distinct HNMR splitting patterns  (Read 8817 times)

Offline CrimpJiggler

• Mole Snacks: +5/-3
Two distinct HNMR splitting patterns
« on: December 20, 2011, 05:54:17 PM »
I noticed these on my NMR:

they both have a small integration ratio indicating that they're produced by a single proton. Is the one on the left a triplet of doublets? If so, how is that splitting pattern produced? As for the one on the right, I don't know what to make of that.

Heres the compound:

I know that bicyclic compounds like this are fairly rigid so there is probably a lot of geminal coupling going on there. I'm still a beginner when it comes to HNMR interpretation so trying to interpret this compounds spectrum has me bewildered. Besides looking for a singlet produced by the hydroxyl proton, I don't even know where to start.

Offline ATMyller

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +31/-6
Re: Two distinct HNMR splitting patterns
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2011, 03:12:04 AM »
The first one is 1:1:2:2:1:1 so it is truly a triplet of doublets and most likely belong to the 3rd carbon (counting from CH next to the OH group) with a CH, CH2 and C-(CH3)2 groups as neighbors.

The other one is a 1:1:1:1:1:1:1:1 octet so actually a doublet of doublet of doublets. I can't find any one proton group with three different single proton neighbors so atleast one of the splitting is caused by something other that mere J3(H-H) coupling.
Chemists do it periodically on table.

Offline sjb

• Global Moderator
  • Mole Snacks: +222/-42
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2011, 05:50:27 AM »
The first one is 1:1:2:2:1:1 so it is truly a triplet of doublets and most likely belong to the 3rd carbon (counting from CH next to the OH group) with a CH, CH2 and C-(CH3)2 groups as neighbors.