March 28, 2024, 09:40:28 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Alkaloid isolation help [a/b extraction]  (Read 8378 times)

Abe

Alkaloid isolation help [a/b extraction]
« on: October 20, 2005, 08:15:50 PM »
Im a noob to this chemistry stuff, so keep it simple please.

I have to an alkaloid in its HCl form in an acidic aqueous solution, just the alkaloid in acidic water, nothing else. I need to unhook its salt by adding a basic solution, in this case NaOH, which will cause the alkaloid to precipitate into its freebase form. However i do not want to use an non polar organic solvent at this point to extract the alkaloid, namely for personal reasons, as i detest handling that stuff.

1. Is the precipitation the alkaloid, or an alkaloid+NaOH compound?

2. Ive repeatedly pondered how to seperate the freebase alkaloid from the NaOH. If the precipitate is just the alkaloid, then i can simply filter it out and rinse. If its not, ive considered doing sublimation since the boiling/melting point of the alkoid is much lower than that of the NaOH. Given that the freebase alkaloid is soluble in NP solvents, but not that of water, and that NaOH is soluble in water but not NP solvents, what else can i do?

Offline movies

• Organic Minion
  • Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +222/-21
  • Better living through chemistry!
Re:Alkaloid isolation help [a/b extraction]
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2005, 12:26:11 AM »
I know you won't like this, but organic solvents are really the way to go.  I would recommend ethyl acetate for this particular purpose; it's not very toxic and is relatively polar and should be good at soaking up the alkaloid free base.  You would need to avoid prolonged exposure to NaOH though because you might begin to saponify the ester.