April 25, 2024, 01:05:41 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Ox. cleavage of cyclic imine  (Read 8303 times)

Offline Fluorine

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +22/-5
Ox. cleavage of cyclic imine
« on: January 24, 2012, 06:43:18 PM »
I was wondering if this was possible whether by ozonolysis, potassium permanganate, or other. Is there any reaction that will split C=N bond to yield carboxylic group and some type of nitrogen on the other?

I'm still learning - always check my work/answer.

"curse Pierre Jules César Janssen!"

Offline sjb

• Global Moderator
  • Mole Snacks: +222/-42
Re: Ox. cleavage of cyclic imine
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2012, 02:41:10 AM »
I was wondering if this was possible whether by ozonolysis, potassium permanganate, or other. Is there any reaction that will split C=N bond to yield carboxylic group and some type of nitrogen on the other?

Well, presumably you can reverse the imine formation and trap the amino aldehyde somehow. Then I think you can oxidise the amino group to the nitro group and the aldehyde to the acid..?

Offline Fluorine

• Chemist
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2012, 05:11:48 AM »
Sorry I didn't understand what's happening in your first sentence.

How about ozonolysis with oxidative work up? Is there any obvious/immediate reason why it wouldn't work? I found only one article discussing anything similar my inquiry and even then it's quite unrelated. Here's an excerpt;