April 18, 2024, 06:17:30 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Planning experiments {MOD edited title}  (Read 13121 times)

Offline MedBaby

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Planning experiments {MOD edited title}
« on: January 24, 2012, 08:18:57 PM »
Ok, i am currently a Chemistry student and we were given a Planning and Design experiment that i have no idea how to approach. it goes like this:
Syllabus topic: Organic Chemistry
Background: In discussing fruits that were suitable for making wine, the following fruits were given:
cherries, oranges and pomeracs. Plan and design an experiment to find out which fruit would make the strongest wine.

Syllabus Topic: Energy and Energetics
Background: Charles, on reaching to what he learnt on the topic of energetics, hypothesized that the energy value of an alcohol depends on the number of carbon atoms it contains. Design an experiment to test the validity of Charles' hypothesis...
please help...idk where to begin ??? ???
« Last Edit: January 24, 2012, 08:20:34 PM by Arkcon »
Hiya smart people. I am having a really difficult time with Chem but i;m sure u guys can help me with it tho..:)

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
Re: Planning experiments {MOD edited title}
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2012, 08:25:17 PM »
OK, lets try to take these experiments one at a time.  What  do you know (or can find out) about wine making, and how we define the strength of wine.  If you've just done energetics, can you find any formulas for determining energy rating?  And what do you know of alcohols, and the number of carbons.
Hey, I'm not judging.  I just like to shoot straight.  I'm a man of science.

Offline MedBaby

« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2012, 08:54:59 PM »
ok.....well i know that the formation of alcohol/ethanol involves fermentation of sugars or yeast, and i know that alcohols contain two carbon atoms as well as hydroxide