March 19, 2024, 07:12:57 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Solubility Calculations  (Read 1555 times)

Offline esteebo

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Solubility Calculations
« on: May 20, 2019, 02:57:25 PM »
I am a physics student, conducting an experiment wherein I want to mix some noble gases into solvents like C3F8 and C3FI, and I wanted to calculate their solubility beforehand (I will be working with parts per million, so I don't think I will reach that upper limit, but I still want it). I tried using Henry's Law, but as I was working through the calculations to get Henry's Law (everything I found had it for solutions using water at around room temperature), I noticed that it is only valid when using solvents around the same density as water. Flourocarbons are not close enough to use that. Are the other methods or equations that would work to calculate these solubility values?

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1799/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: Solubility Calculations
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2019, 03:11:43 AM »
I am not sure I understand what you mean - Henry's law states that the concentration of dissolved gas is directly proportional to the partial pressure of the gas above solvent. As far as I am aware it: a. doesn't put any limit on the solubility, b. doesn't provide any way to calculate the proportionality constant (other than from experimental data).

I feel like you are talking about something else.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline esteebo

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2019, 08:22:53 AM »