April 27, 2024, 10:19:41 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: What role does the phase state play in describing an equilibrium constant?  (Read 5559 times)

Offline blaisem

• Mole Snacks: +5/-0
Hi, I am an undergraduate tutor at my university.  In General Chemistry, for an equilibrium expression such as:

K=(Cc)(Dd)(Aa)-1(Bb )-1

for a reaction aA + bB   ::equil:: cC + dD

we are taught to ignore the phase of any component in the reaction that is a solid or liquid.

So, today, someone asked me what to do if a reaction contains both gas phase and aqueous phase molecules.  Since an equilibrium of pressures and an equilibrium of Molarities can be interrelated by the ideal gas law, the closeness of their relationship made me unsure how to approach that problem. 

Surely, due to the different phases there must be some consideration to take into play.  Since one is solvated and the other is not, I thought maybe the concentrations would have to be expressed in ppm, but this consideration is not necessary when using the ideal gas law to convert from concentration equilibrium to pressure equilibrium.  Then, I realized I had no way to convert an aqueous concentration into a pressure.  I know these kinds of reactions exist because gases often react with other states, such as air contaminating a reaction, but I had always assumed the gas remains in the gas phase as it interacts rather than entering an aqueous phase.  Now I don't know.

Finally, I managed to further confuse myself when I realized that I had no idea why liquids and solids weren't considered in the first place in an expression for the equilibrium.  With all that said, my questions are the following:

1. Why are solid and liquid phase compounds not considered in an expression for an equilibrium?