April 20, 2024, 07:32:45 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: How to make LDA (Lithium Diisoproylamide)  (Read 23386 times)

Offline ons121

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
How to make LDA (Lithium Diisoproylamide)
« on: March 30, 2012, 07:10:42 AM »
I am an undergraduate research assistant in an Organic Chemistry laboratory. I'm working on this experiment that requires me to make LDA.  I have the steps and procedure to make LDA, but somehow and somewhere I am messing up.

My LDA looks clear, sometimes slightly turbid, but never a clear yellowish color.

1. I flame dry and use a full vacuum for the round bottom flask
2. I let it cool
3. I add distilled diisoproylamine  under inert N2  (.7 ml)
4. Add THF (6.6 mL)
5. let it cool to 0 C (using regular ice and water), wait 10 mins
6. add n-BuLi dropwise (.4 ml)
7. stir for 20 mins at 0 C
8. Cool to -78 C using dry ice and acetone

then from here, I follow the other steps my prof has asked me.

Please can someone give me some pointers or guidance. I"ve been working on this project the last 4 months and I can't seem to get it right. My LDA always looks clear like water, or slightly turbid. Please help. Thank you in advance.

Offline Doc Oc

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +48/-12
Re: How to make LDA (Lithium Diisoproylamide)
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2012, 08:39:57 AM »
That procedure looks correct, but there are a couple things you need to clarify.  That amount of pure diisopropylamine is about 5 mmol.  What is the molarity of the n-BuLi that you're using?  The mmols obviously need to match.

One big pitfall with lithium reagents is that they do go bad and need to be titrated to determine true concentration if they've been sitting for a while or the bottle is old.  This can be done fairly simply using diphenylacetic acid, I believe you can find a good procedure for this on the internet.

Offline ons121

« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2012, 02:22:20 PM »
Sorry about not clarifying properly!