April 19, 2024, 06:52:58 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: How to find all CAS numbers?  (Read 10968 times)

Offline JonathanS

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
How to find all CAS numbers?
« on: April 15, 2012, 08:46:16 PM »
My goal is to make a library of organic molecules. As I would assume all of the common chemicals all have CAS numbers, I thought searching all CAS numbers was the best approach.

I know the lowest CAS number is 50-50-0, but how do I find the next one in the list?

I tried searching 50-51-1 at http://www.sigmaaldrich.com/chemistry.html but I got no result.

What is the next CAS number after 50-50-0 and how do I find the next one after that, so on and so forth?

Thanks!

Offline Fluorine

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +22/-5
Re: How to find all CAS numbers?
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2012, 09:38:09 PM »
This might help answer your question; CAS registry number format (wiki)
I'm still learning - always check my work/answer.

"curse Pierre Jules César Janssen!"

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1800/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2012, 03:17:49 AM »
You may want to check with Chemical Abstracts Society about legality of your plans:

A User or Organization may include, without a license and without paying a fee, up to 10,000 CAS Registry Numbers or CASRNs in a catalog, web site, or other product for which there is no charge. The following attribution should be referenced or appear with the use of each CASRN: CAS Registry Number is a Registered Trademark of the American Chemical Society.

I am more than sure CAS/ACS has a database of all CAS numbers.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline JonathanS

« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2012, 01:08:51 AM »
Also from my post I'm sure it is clear I understand the format.