April 28, 2024, 10:07:38 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Inorganic Semiconductor-Polymer Interface  (Read 6213 times)

Offline SUNNY_physics

• Mole Snacks: +0/-2
Inorganic Semiconductor-Polymer Interface
« on: April 04, 2012, 08:39:28 PM »
Hello. I am a student working on a condensed matter physics project. I am wondering about the nature of the interactions at the interface between inorganic semiconductors and polymers, and if there was a non-mechanical way to disrupt the interactions between the semiconductor and the polymer.

I'm personally baffled by how hard it is to remove semiconductors from polymer packaging without damaging it. I need remove a fragile semiconductor device from the silicone packaging in which it is embedded. I am guessing that there should be very weak interactions between the semiconductor surface and the silicone because a thin inert oxide layer should form on the surface of silicon, and silicon dioxide should have an unfavorable interaction with silicone polymer. Of course the reality is that the silicone sticks onto the device.

I do not think heating would work, as silicones decompose into silicon dioxide on heating and that may destroy surface features on the device. I've tried to disrupt the mechanical stability of the polymer film by swelling it with a solvent mix of toluene and acetone, which should increase the stress in the surface layer until it breaks, but it seems to have very little effect.

Any contribution would be welcome, on either the basic science or the specific problem I'm having. Thank you!

Offline jaspevacek

• Mole Snacks: +5/-0
    • It's the Rheo Thing
Re: Inorganic Semiconductor-Polymer Interface
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2012, 08:25:52 AM »