April 19, 2024, 04:45:34 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: How to recover of Ag from Al/Ag alloy  (Read 12135 times)

Offline Mennig

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
How to recover of Ag from Al/Ag alloy
« on: April 28, 2012, 06:35:32 PM »
Newbie here, if I'm in the wrong hole just kick me where I need to go.

I have a quantity of Aluminum Silver alloy and I wish to recover the Ag.  From research on the product I have determined the it is a 96% Al and 4% Ag alloy. The current material is in the form of radio tower cable boxes ranging in weight from 5-6# to maybe 15# each.

Intially I will reduce bulk buy grinding the boxes into a powder, maybe 100-200 mesh.

i am considering using Na OH(aq) to reduce the Al. 2Al(s)+2Na(aq)+6H20(1)--->2NaAl(OH)4(aq)+2ha(g).

Please bear with me, it's been 50 yrs since my last chemistry class!

Now I believe (??) the Ag(s) should be non reactive with NaOH and end up as a slurry in the bottom of my tank.  At this point I am intending to decant and filter my liquid.  H20 Rinse and  Refilter.

This is where I get confused.  Would my Ag be an OH? or could I just take this filtrate disolve it in HNO3-H20, precipitate the Ag as AgCl and cement.  Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.
« Last Edit: August 22, 2015, 12:43:47 PM by Arkcon »

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
Re: How to recover of Ag from Al/Ag alloy
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2012, 06:59:26 PM »