April 16, 2024, 12:54:14 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: cofactors typical reaction  (Read 4026 times)

Offline mythonline

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
cofactors typical reaction
« on: May 18, 2012, 08:52:13 PM »
Hello,

I am a med student in the 2nd semester, and I am having a bit troubles with understanding the types of reactions some co-factors are involved in, and I am not sure that those I do know, don't have another way of reacting.

NAD+
Dehydrogenation of a non-carbon atom that is connected to the chain from one side, and have hydrogen on it to form double bond between him and the carbon (for example hydroxy group would go into oxo group).

NADPH
opposite of NAD reactions?
hydroxylation? (difference between NADPH to other hydroxylation cofactors?)

FAD
Dehydrogenation of 2 carbons inside a chain to form double bond between them

Dihydrobiopterin (BH2)
my book giving him almost the same explanation as NADP, could someone tell me the difference?

molybdopterin
written to create electron transfer reaction, could someone give more knowledge about this enzyme?

ubiquinone
accept slowly electrons and protons? what does it mean?

Lipoate
can someone explain?

haeme-Fe3+ non-haeme-S-Fe+
transfer of one electron? (I remember something vaguely about CO2 to carbonic acid, but could someone give further information?)

glutathione
donor of 2H (different between the rest of the 2 hydrogen donors?)

pyridoxal phosphate
just transamination?

PAPS
transfer of sulfonic group?

carboxybiotin
transfer of carboxylic acid?

what is the difference between the reaction of transfer of acyl group between acyl-CoA and dihydrolipoate? same question about SAM and cobalamin? which types of substances the body will use for those reactions?

thiamin diphosphate, transfer of oxo group? what does it mean?

thanks for any *delete me*

Offline Babcock_Hall

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +320/-22
Re: cofactors typical reaction
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2012, 11:08:16 AM »