April 25, 2024, 09:53:51 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Getting My Second Degree in Chemistry?  (Read 6806 times)

Offline md1327

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Getting My Second Degree in Chemistry?
« on: June 05, 2012, 09:59:09 PM »
Hey guys and gals. I'm a software developer who's somewhat bored at work and am evaluating my opportunities for graduate school and continuing my education in the field of Chemistry. Here's a little bit of background info and my situation:

I have a BS in Applied Mathematics / Computer Science and took Chem I & II (Fundamentals) while at the university. Recently my fiance (a biochemist) and I worked together on a few console applications (in .NET) related to balancing chemical equations and predicting chemical products from the reactions which worked out somewhat well. Our little project stimulated my interest in chemistry and I began to remember how much I actually enjoyed the labs for my Chem classes.

So now I want to go to school and study chemistry. My dilemma is that I want to get a masters (or dare I say PhD) but lack the necessary prerequisites. So I had a few questions for the online chemist community:

1) I will obviously have to meet the necessary prerequisites, but should I go ahead and get a BS in chemistry as well?

2) Is undergraduate research guaranteed to most Bachelors level students?

3) Will a background in software / math help me in this process, or does this hold you back when being considered for graduate school?

4) What is job / professorship opportunities like for recent grads from chemistry programs?

5) Synthetic organic chemistry and analytic chemistry sound very intriguing to me. Are these feasible fields to get into?

Offline Doc Oc

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +48/-12
Re: Getting My Second Degree in Chemistry?
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2012, 12:26:25 AM »
My brutally honest opinion: