April 26, 2024, 02:52:48 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: death of an amino acid  (Read 24090 times)

Offline Olivia james

• Mole Snacks: +0/-5
death of an amino acid
« on: June 18, 2012, 10:32:46 AM »
Hi
 Newbie here. I am trying to determine what criteria (atmospheric forces?) can damage an amino acid - heat, PH, Light, oxygen etc. As regards to heat for example, Aminos have a "melting point". Is this melting point the point of completion of the melting or the beginning? Do all of the components of the amino (hydrogen, nitrogen, carbon , etc) react to the heat in the same way. If one component reacts more readily than another, still then is the amino still that amino. If the amino threonine say, loses it's hydrogen component first in the melting process, and then the heat factor is removed, do we have an "injured" amino, or is the amino defunct by virtue of losing one of it's components.
  I apologize if this sounds a bit or a lot crazy, or poorly put - I am not a chem student but am curious as to the nature of chemical reactions etc.
                                                                                                                             Olivia

Offline discodermolide

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +405/-70
    • My research history
Re: death of an amino acid
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2012, 10:51:13 AM »
Hi