March 28, 2024, 04:54:40 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Some simple concepts I'm having difficulty with understanding  (Read 4782 times)

Offline Bublik

• Mole Snacks: +5/-1
Hello,

This is my first post on this forum and I have noticed that there are most likely people who can help me understand some very basic concepts of chemistry. I am currently studying grade 12 AP chemistry, and I can solve most problems at this level with ease. However, I am having difficulty understanding why some things work the way they do.

First, I don't understand how to predict which compounds would give an acidic aqueous solution and which ones would give a basic aqueous solution. People seem to be able to tell right away, but I certainly can't. I understand how the measure of acidity works, how it is the log of the concentration of hydrogen ions, but let me give an example to explain my confusion:

I have heard that KCN, when dissolved in water, would give a basic aqueous solution. Why is this? I recognize that KCN will ionize into separate K+ and CN- ions. What I don't understand is how that will change the pH. In water, there are H+ and OH- ions which neutralize eachother and explain the neutral pH of 7. however, how does the addition of KCN affect this?

I mean, I understand when something like NaOH is added and why that augments the pH, because that is a direct OH- addition and in the above case there is no such thing. Can someone please explain that to me thoroughly?

Second, and this is a very specific question: Does the speed or weight of photons have anything to do with how energetic the corresponding radiation is?
X-ray radiation is more energetic than microwave radiation only because x-ray radiation has a higher frequency than does microwave radiation. Am I right about this? The characteristics of the photon pertaining to this question are irrelevant, right?

If that sounded confusing, then the specific problem I was looking at was: