April 27, 2024, 06:39:29 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: understanding resistance  (Read 4288 times)

Offline LT72884

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
understanding resistance
« on: July 18, 2012, 04:06:48 PM »
Hello all. I am a new member here. I JUST finished my first semester and class EVER of chemistry. So please bare in mind that my question/theory may be completely bass ackwards. I am a Mechanical Engineering student. I am in my first semseter ever of calc. totally awesome i have made it this far in life. i love it. I have three areas i am deciding to go into as a career. But ill startt with my question

Ok, i know that most bacteria are carbon based life forms. To me, my theory(maybe someone else has it to but i dont know) is that one of the reasons these bacteria are gaining resistance to anitbiotics is this:

Using natural(living organisms) antibiotics from a natural source such as olive leaf extract(works great), other herbs and also including ones such as bread mold(penicillin) and the ones from vegetable decay and soil(Streptomyces  aomiensis), and other prescribed ones that are from living organisms(did i spell that right? i always miss that up with another word that means something wayyyy different. hahahah) are carbon based as well. So my theory is that since the bacteria is carbon based, it can mutate itself as needs be to resist other carbon based threats such as immune systems and antibiotics.

Thats why i think things like siltran for burns works great as its not carbon based. So using silver as an antibiotic(proper amounts and colloids as so people do not turn blue from poisoning) and other things not carbon based my be a key. thats just my thinking. In no way shape or form am i bashing modern or wholestic medicine. My mom is head nurse at U of U hospital and i respect modern medicine. thanks yall. just trying to understand things from both sides of the picture.

Offline Babcock_Hall

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +321/-22