April 19, 2024, 05:13:21 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Should I leave with a masters?  (Read 4858 times)

Offline anon07

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1/-0
Should I leave with a masters?
« on: July 27, 2012, 10:32:50 PM »
I am a chem PhD student just finishing my fifth year. Unfortunately, I have pretty much nothing to show for it but a string of projects with no results.  I don't see an end in sight and this stresses me out to the point where I get physical symptoms from it.  Needless to say, I want out.

I went into grad school thinking that I wanted to be a professor at a small undergraduate university but have now completely burnt out on research and don't want to run my own lab-so that doesn't really fit anymore.  However, I still want to teach either at the high school or community college level.  Neither of which require a PhD. 

My current train of thought is to leave with my masters and start a teaching certificate program- an intensive summer course followed by a paid student teaching position- after which I could get some experience teaching at high schools and then maybe move up to community colleges.

Money is not that big of an issue.  I have cheap tastes and my husband does well enough for the both of us.

My questions are- Will I regret dropping out?  Could I actually get a community college job with just a masters?

I would appreciate any insight.

Offline Dan

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +469/-72
  • Organic Chemist
    • My research
Re: Should I leave with a masters?
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2012, 07:09:20 AM »
I think you should have a meeting with your supervisor to discuss it.