April 25, 2024, 08:59:50 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: computers and chemistry  (Read 4028 times)

Offline myke123

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
computers and chemistry
« on: August 19, 2012, 01:18:02 AM »
Hi all,I need advice on a probable easy starting point on the subject stated above.I'm an industrial chemistry student (2nd year) and I  have been doing both desktop and microcontroller programming for a while.I'd like to be able to "detect" the physical variables in a chemical reaction and process the data collected in a computer backend.while I'm comfortable with programming ,I don't have an idea of a cheap good starting point (one that is not complex enough to scare me away) in a chemical process.I googled and came up with a potentiostat and ph meter(both use a microcontroller).so are these good or are there any other easier options.thank you

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: computers and chemistry
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2012, 03:21:38 AM »
I'd like to be able to "detect" the physical variables in a chemical reaction

Then your problem is in detectors and how to read their output - read about how pH meter works (that you already have on your list, but you look from the wrong side) - or, more generally, about ORP electrodes, look for measurements of conductivity, google for detectors in spectroscopy and so on. Basically you are almost always measuring either a current or a potential.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline myke123

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2012, 04:00:52 AM »
Thank you for the quick response,I will definitely give feedback on what I find out.has anyone here  done this though? ,I could do with a 'common pitfalls list'.

Offline Jasim

• Mole Snacks: +15/-5