April 28, 2024, 07:56:41 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Leaving Physics for Chemistry?  (Read 4048 times)

Offline SUNNY_physics

• Mole Snacks: +0/-2
Leaving Physics for Chemistry?
« on: August 27, 2012, 06:53:29 PM »
I'm currently a MS student in applied physics and thinking strongly of switching to a MS in Chemistry (physical and/or analytical).

I have no plans to do a PhD in physics anymore. I thought I wanted to be a physicist going in, but I found that the questions that I was interested in, are not really the same questions physics are interested in.

The classes are another thing. Electricity and magnetism is a huge pain that I'm struggling through and just don't see a use for in my research. The only classes I'm really interested in for physics are quantum, stat mech and solid state, which is already in a chemistry degree.

I have 11 core classes for physics, there's only 5 core chemistry classes. Because of this, and getting a few classes delayed, I'm going to graduate a year late and its going to take me 3-4 years just for a masters... if I switched RIGHT NOW I can probably get a MS Chemistry in 2 years. However, I'm worried. My original plan was to go for a PHD in Physical Chemistry/Chemical Physics or Materials Science. I'm scared that I wouldn't be able to handle the PHD, and I've heard that a MS in Chemistry (does analytical count?) is not as employable as a MS in Physics if I chose do go into industry.

What is the demand for analytical chemists right now? Physical chemists? The research I'm looking at is in polymer semiconductors, how are analytical/physical chemists working in polymers doing? I've looked on careerbuilder and it seems that there's plenty of jobs in analysis and polymers, but I can never be sure whether they're real or not...

Offline vex

• Mole Snacks: +13/-0
Re: Leaving Physics for Chemistry?
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2012, 12:27:13 PM »