April 19, 2024, 03:31:53 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Why do flourescent minerals no longer fluorecse after exposure to heat?  (Read 4103 times)

Offline glassy24

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Can anyone help me find an answer? i'm a glass artist and lately i have been working on creating fluorescent glass color using fluorescent minerals. every one i have tried so far ends up being compatible with the glass but no longer fluoresces after its been heated (to about 1900-2100 degrees fahrenheit). I know of some phosphors that are able to withstand temperatures of at least 1300F but they "burn out" at the temp i'm working with. What physical property/properties should i look at to figure out if the minerals can withstand high temperatures and still fluoresce, melting point, flash point? and what actually causes them to stop fluorescing? does the molecular structure actually change at a certain temperature? also, the mineral powder is encased in glass, i know many forms of phosphorescence require interaction with oxygen but does the lack of oxygen effect fluorescence at all? I hope im posting in the right forum, if anyone can answer any of my questions or even direct me to a good source of information on the subject it would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

Offline Enthalpy

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +304/-59
Re: Why do flourescent minerals no longer fluorecse after exposure to heat?
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2012, 07:46:36 PM »
Welcome here, Glassy24!

I'm no expert on fluorescent materials, but here are my two cents worth of answers, until someone more knowledgeable jumps in.

Some fluo materials are organic and these wouldn't survive the heat. Most mineral fluo materials should survive 1100°C. However, I imagine a few mishaps that can occur: