March 28, 2024, 11:33:47 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Does temperature of the distillate and high pressure chemically affect the oil?  (Read 6973 times)

Offline Maydi

• Mole Snacks: +0/-1
Hi there

I've just joined the forum. I am a newbie to distillation and I have 2 burning questions:

1. Does the temperature of the distillate affect the oils chemically?

2. How does high pressure (10 lbs per square inch) affect the oils chemically?

As background information, I am steam distilling frankincense (more specifically Boswellia carterii and B. frereana). At lower pressures (3-4 lbs psi) we are distilling for 8 hours; but at higher pressure (8-10 lbs psi) we run out of distillate in under 5 hours.

Looking forward to your expert feedback

Many thanks

Maydi

Offline discodermolide

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +405/-70
    • My research history
Well talking about "burning questions" in a forums like this, I'm not sure.
The compounds may decompose at their boiling point, or isomerise or react.
Pressure, I assume you are talking about steam pressure. A fast rate of steam will accelerate the distillation process,which is what you observe.
If the compounds have appropriately situated double bonds they may undergo a Diels-Adler or other thermal process.
So I would suggest to lower the steam pressure and do a relatively slow distillation.
Development Chemists do it on Scale, Research Chemists just do it!
My Research History

Offline Maydi

• Mole Snacks: +0/-1
Hi Discodermolide,

Thank you very much for your interesting insight. You are right to assume that in "pressure" I am talking about steam pressure. I do not have a strong organic chemistry background and am not sure if frankincense has double bonded compounds that may undergo any thermal processes. Are these double bonds you've mentioned isomers by the way?