April 28, 2024, 03:14:20 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: How to identify ions in molecule  (Read 2726 times)

Offline Omnihuron

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
How to identify ions in molecule
« on: October 25, 2012, 11:39:31 PM »
I am doing reaction equations in Chemistry ad in the book it says "Identify the precipitate that forms when BaCl2 and K2SO4 are mixed. But I have no idea what the ions that forms these molecules are. Later is says matter-of-factly that the reactants contain Ba2+, Cl-, K+ and SO42-. How did it get those numbers? It didn't explain how they figured it out. Is it memorization or is there a method? Thanks a bunch!

Offline MathisFun

• Mole Snacks: +2/-1
Re: How to identify ions in molecule
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2012, 12:34:05 AM »
Hello Omnihuron, welcome to the forums. I'm not a resident expert here, as I have just begun the long, but enjoyable process of learning chemistry. Given what I have learned thus far, I can offer a little commentary on this subject.

If you look at a Periodic Table of Elements, there are divisions, columns and rows. In this instance, we will concern ourselves with the columns, which are referred to as 'groups.'

Group 1-A is the elements from the first element, Hydrogen, going straight downwards to Francium. These elements tend to give off an electron, thus H+, Li+, Na+, K+, etc.

The next column is Group 2-A, which follows the pattern, giving off 2 electrons, Ca2+, Sr2+, Ba2+, etc.

Group 3-A skips the Transitional elements, which are groups 3B-8B, then 1B and 2B, and starts from Boron, thus B3+, Al3+, etc.

From Group 7-A, beginning with Fluorine, the elements accept an electron, thus F-, Cl-, Br-, etc.

Group 6-A, as you can guess, is O2-, S2-, etc.

As for SO42- (Sulfate), which is a polyatomic ion, the only advice I have been given is to memorize the common polyatomic ions, which happens through repeated exposure of said ion.