March 29, 2024, 10:03:18 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: what kind of math is used in advanced topics in chemistry  (Read 5884 times)

Offline avoG

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
what kind of math is used in advanced topics in chemistry
« on: October 19, 2012, 04:06:29 PM »
I am a first year chemistry student and i am hoping to do a minor in mathematics. I will be taking Calculus(1,2,3) and linear algebra(1,2,3). So i am wondering if i should take abstract algebra(1,2) vs Ordinary differential equations(1,2)? ???

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
Re: what kind of math is used in advanced topics in chemistry
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2012, 04:21:51 PM »
Calculus, and then Multivariable Calculus (is that what 3 is in your school) are the most important.  My gut feeling is that Differential Equations is more important for the most advanced physics and chemical problems, but my gut could be completely wrong.
Hey, I'm not judging.  I just like to shoot straight.  I'm a man of science.

Offline curiouscat

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +121/-35
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2012, 01:05:53 AM »
Calculus, and then Multivariable Calculus (is that what 3 is in your school) are the most important.  My gut feeling is that Differential Equations is more important for the most advanced physics and chemical problems, but my gut could be completely wrong.

As a Chemical Engineer Differential Equations are invaluable. Also for reaction kinetics.

Abstract / Linear Algebra is suitable for Quantum Chemistry (for one).

Offline avoG

« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2012, 10:38:21 AM »
Calculus 3 is multivariable calculus. I am doing a concentration in nanotechnology( honours in chemistry with a concentration in nanotechnology minor in math) i don't know if that makes a difference but i am getting the feeling that differential equations is the way to go. Any more input would be appreciated. :)

Offline Jorriss

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +41/-14