April 25, 2024, 06:04:07 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Building my resume?  (Read 4526 times)

Offline EpicWinston

• Mole Snacks: +3/-6
Building my resume?
« on: October 09, 2012, 02:30:13 AM »
Hello everyone, thanks for taking the time to read my post. I am currently a sophomore in college majoring in chemistry and I am trying to build my resume. I did some research over the summer, but I hated it. Although I do not like research, I like writing and presenting my findings. With that being said I was wondering if anyone knows a science magazine that would allow me to publish my writing.

I am currently writing for a social media magazine, which is extremely fun, but it doesn't look appealing for grad/med school. I Just sent emails to a few editors who manages science articles for kids. I don't mind starting off small. I just need to get my foot in the door and develop a sound presence as a writer/scientist.

Does anyone write for a magazine? Know of any magazines that readily hires freelancers?
Any advise for building my resume?

Offline fledarmus

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +203/-28
Re: Building my resume?
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2012, 07:49:09 AM »
What would you like to do with your degree? If you enjoy writing enough to make it a profession, you are going to need a portfolio more than a resume. Start writing. Blogs are a good way to make you focus and write every day, and when you need them, you'll have plenty of writing samples to pull from. Or you can pick current scientific issues out of the news and write free-lance articles for your school or local newspapers. There are also schools that have programs in Scientific Communications, which might be a better major for you than chemistry if that is the direction you want to go.

Best of luck!

Offline EpicWinston

• Mole Snacks: +3/-6
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2012, 02:22:48 PM »