April 27, 2024, 05:18:24 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Large home water distillation idea - question about use of plastics  (Read 6157 times)

Offline Tittywahah

• Mole Snacks: +4/-2
As you can see from the uploaded image my gas central heating makes a brilliant source of steam, lots of it.  So instead of a small kettle boiling with tubes running through ice packs I decided to use the extreme cold weather here and this free source of steam to collect water.   I would like to know if the steam would have any un-wholesome effects on normal plastic drain pipe, would there be any risks of contamination?  The idea is to attach the 7 inch diameter wide pipe via hooks onto the end of the cage, not removing it, thereby allowing for some natural escape of steam just to play it safe.  I reckon that I could collect 1 litre of water every day instead of having to buy the stuff, which is expensive here.  My only concern is the use of plastic, since I have no technical knowledge at all about their properties.  Obviously glass is out of the question. The extreme cold provides an excellent condensor in this process.
Thankyou.

Offline curiouscat

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +121/-35
Re: Large home water distillation idea - question about use of plastics
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2012, 08:31:33 AM »
I'm curious where do you live? Wondering if 1 L / day is worth the effort?

Plastic is generic; what kind is it? HDPE? etc.

Offline Tittywahah

« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2012, 08:40:05 AM »
I'm curious where do you live? Wondering if 1 L / day is worth the effort?

Plastic is generic; what kind is it? HDPE? etc.