March 29, 2024, 09:49:20 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: GVS-111 analogs  (Read 3969 times)

Offline vorel

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
GVS-111 analogs
« on: November 24, 2012, 03:52:25 PM »
I am interested in learning more about the pharmacological mechanisms of action behind substance GVS-111

I would appreciate it if someone could point me to literature that would help me potentially explore analogs of this substance in the future and how to safely and effectively test them for activity and toxicity.

I am an undergraduate biology major (USA) and I am open to thoughts and ideas as well as suggestions as to how I should approach my studies to align myself more closely with researchers that study such things.

Thanks!

Offline Babcock_Hall

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +319/-22
Re: GVS-111 analogs
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2012, 04:12:17 PM »
I am unfamiliar with this substance, and pharmacology is not my specialty.  The first thing I might do is to find its chemical name, and the second thing I would do is to use a scientific searching tool, such as PubMed or GoogleScholar to find some peer-reviewed papers on the subject.  Are you writing a paper of some sort?  IMO it is important that the at least some of sources you use be peer-reviewed articles.  PubMed will return 73 articles on GVS-111 alone, for example:
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12711349

Offline vorel

« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2012, 05:00:09 PM »
I am not writing a paper. This is simply to educate myself and out of curiosity. Thank you.

Offline Yggdrasil

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +485/-21
  • Physical Biochemist
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2012, 06:57:29 PM »
Pubchem is a nice resource for looking up information on various drugs.  Here's the pubchem page for GVS-111: https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/summary/summary.cgi?cid=180496

Offline vorel

« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2012, 07:42:15 PM »
Thank you for taking the time to reply.