April 20, 2024, 08:02:23 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: obtaining free metals by electrolysis and compound relationship questions  (Read 4004 times)

Offline blamendola25

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-1
I am studying for a test next tuesday, and I am having trouble on a couple of questions. The questions are:

1. Which of the following compounds would you expect to have to undergo electrolysis to obtain free metals? explain your choice.

a. KCl          b. Ag2O   c. Fe2O3

2. Explain why corresponding phosphorus and arsenic compounds resemble each other more closely than they do nitrogen compounds.

I have asked the teacher for help, but all he does is makes it more confusing. Can anyone help?

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
Re: obtaining free metals by electrolysis and compound relationship questions
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2012, 12:34:38 PM »
1. Which of the following compounds would you expect to have to undergo electrolysis to obtain free metals? explain your choice.

a. KCl          b. Ag2O   c. Fe2O3

Sing it with me:  One of these things is not like the others, one of these things is totally different.

2. Explain why corresponding phosphorus and arsenic compounds resemble each other more closely than they do nitrogen compounds.

Look at the periodic table.  What is happening to phosphorus and arsenic, given their position?

I have asked the teacher for help, but all he does is makes it more confusing. Can anyone help?

What did he say?  It might have been more insightful, if you tried a bit harder.
Hey, I'm not judging.  I just like to shoot straight.  I'm a man of science.

Offline blamendola25

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-1
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2012, 07:33:26 PM »