April 18, 2024, 11:19:39 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Help for non-technical person: fuel cells  (Read 2742 times)

Offline Nat333

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Help for non-technical person: fuel cells
« on: January 30, 2013, 08:13:18 AM »
Hi,

I was attempting some kinetics/fuel cell problems and thought about the expertise of chemical engineers in an online forum.

I'm a market researcher trying to understand fuel cells on a part-time course. The problem is I'm totally lost reading the course material. I get the concept of electricity generation from a fuel cell, but I just seem unable to understand or connect the underlying chemical engineering concepts.

Would it be possible if you could explain to me how I might go about the questions below, please? Or maybe if you worked them out I'd be able to understand and then take it from there? I've been able to solve 2 other related questions on equilibrium constant.

I recognise you might be busy, hence your assistance will be very much appreciated. In fact, I'm more than happy to compensate you for your time.

I look forward to your reply.

Thank you.

a)   Hydrogen is to be produced by the electrolysis of steam at temperatures of 500  to  800 °C,. 

i). Explain how this may be achieved in a practical system.

ii) Show, how the cell voltage of the electrolyser varies with temperature in the range of temperature, 500  of  800 °C, at a  current density of 1000 mA cm-2 and  pressures of 5 and 20 bar.

Data:

Anode and cathode kinetics are given by a Tafel equation with the following data for exchange current density and transfer coefficient (or Tafel slope):

Cathode
Exchange current density;       jo = {RT/2F}kelectrode exp[-Eelectrode/RT]

kelectrode = 6.54 x 1011    S m-2,  Eelectrode= 1.4 x 105     J mol-1.

Tafel slope 30 mV/decade

Anode
Exchange current density;       jo = {RT/2F}kelectrode exp[-Eelectrode/RT]

kelectrode = 2.35 x 1011    S m-2,  Eelectrode= 1.37 x 105     J mol-1.