April 28, 2024, 07:40:41 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Surfactant for Mineral Oil that produces a clear blend...  (Read 6009 times)

Offline gastando

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Surfactant for Mineral Oil that produces a clear blend...
« on: February 10, 2013, 04:53:56 PM »
Hello, I am trying to find a surfactant that I can use to lower the surface tension of a mineral oil blend that I am using in my research. I am not adding water to the solution. The only restriction is that the final solution has to be clear.

In my experiment I am trying to precipitate granules of quartz through the air and into the oil blend. But at the moment the fine granules sit on top of the oil until enough of them accumulate to break the surface tension and drop into the solution. The only problem is that when this happens, trapped air bubbles fall into the solution which is not a desired effect.

I am a civil engineer and my chemistry knowledge is basic. So I would really appreciate any advice or direction to follow.

Thanks

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
Re: Surfactant for Mineral Oil that produces a clear blend...
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2013, 05:00:41 PM »
Maybe, instead of using a surfactant, you could use a lighter (less dense) grade of mineral oil, so that the solids sink faster.  Or maybe try another nonpolar solvent.
Hey, I'm not judging.  I just like to shoot straight.  I'm a man of science.

Offline Enthalpy

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +304/-59
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2013, 07:00:33 PM »
Could you impregnate the quartz granules before throwing them at the oil? Then, I expect pretty much any hydrocarbon would let the particles sink, like Diesel oil or decalin - choose one for health.

Offline gastando

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2013, 12:30:18 PM »