April 25, 2024, 05:40:00 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Will galvanic corrosion occur in this setup (described in aditional info)?  (Read 1877 times)

Offline galvaniccorrosionquestion

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Hi, I was recommended to post in this subsection of the forums.

I am studying mechanical engineering, and have always had an extremely weak understanding of chemistry.

What I am tasked with doing is designing a welding table.

Bellow, I'll post an image of the weld table. The part that is labelled with the number 1 is what I'll call the top plate. It's function is simply to clamp down onto the copper base plate (labelled with the number 2). Due to the requirements of the welding that will occur on the table, as well as the force requirements, this top plate will likely be made out of 7075 Aluminum.

The part that is labelled with the number 2 is the base plate. It will be made out of C110 Copper. Not shown in the picture, two copper tubes are passed through this part for cooling. The coolant used will be normal tap water.

Summary:

There is a 7075 aluminum plate clamping down onto a copper base plate. Passing through this copper base plate will be two copper tubes filled with tap water.

It's my understanding that galvanic corrosion will occur when two dissimilar metals are electrically connected in the presence of an electrolyte. Is this the case as described above? The aluminum and copper are definitely electrically connected, and there IS an electrolyte present, but not directly. The copper and aluminum are in "dry" contact (what I mean is non of the electrolyte will be directly in contact with any of the aluminum top plate, just electrically).

I hope that someone is able to start me in the right direction.

Thank-you

EDIT: Forgot to add the picture. Im in the process of doing so right now.

EDIT2: Added in the picture. Hope it works for you guys.

« Last Edit: February 14, 2013, 02:57:40 PM by galvaniccorrosionquestion »

Offline Arkcon