April 20, 2024, 06:07:14 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Quantum mechanics and reactivity  (Read 2806 times)

Offline Urbanium

• Mole Snacks: +1/-1
Quantum mechanics and reactivity
« on: March 10, 2013, 08:16:40 PM »
Hi, I am a quantum chemistry noob and I do have one question: when somebody says that quantum mechanics is used to predict and/or explain reactivity of organic molecules, what does it mean?

Does it have to do with Hartree-Fock, Huckel method, DFT... or something else? Which quantum chemistry methods in particular are used to explore reactivity?

I would also appreciate if somebody could recommend some software used for that type of calculations and modeling.

Offline Schrödinger

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +138/-98
Re: Quantum mechanics and reactivity
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2013, 03:12:39 PM »
I guess these are some of the methods. By doing electron density calculations, you can see clearly which site on a molecule will act as the nucleophile (just an example). Similarly so for the electrophilic part of a huge molecule. Computational techniques are used to predict and optimize transition states, plot reaction coordinates, etc especially in organic systems.
"Destiny is not a matter of chance; but a matter of choice. It is not a thing to be waited for; it is a thing to be achieved."
- William Jennings Bryan

Offline curiouscat

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +121/-35
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2013, 03:34:51 PM »
I guess these are some of the methods. By doing electron density calculations, you can see clearly which site on a molecule will act as the nucleophile (just an example).mize transition states, plot reaction coordinates, etc especially in organic systems.

Even better, you can often estimate the Eact and thermodynamics to a fair degree of accuracy. At least for homogenous reactions.

Once you know activation energy and thermochemistry of a reaction, essentially you have all the reactivity information that you want.