March 28, 2024, 10:03:30 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Wondering about autoignite temps for various fuels  (Read 3358 times)

Offline TheSpark

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Wondering about autoignite temps for various fuels
« on: February 26, 2013, 06:01:55 PM »
hi! i'm a noob here, but forums are great mines of information, and i am in need of facts!  :P

i'm a fire performer organizing the safety for a large festival event this summer. we spin things on fire in the middle of the woods, so safety is vital! in order to provide a better answer as to why some fuels are not allowed, and to provide the best safety possible, i am researching the chemistry behind the various flammables and combustibles. do any of you know where i can go to find the flash points of about 10 different chemicals? the wiki will only go so far, and after a while i feel like i'm going in circles..

thank you!!!!

Offline Enthalpy

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +304/-59
Re: Wondering about autoignite temps for various fuels
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2013, 12:22:21 PM »
These are two different notions, which are only loosely related, including the corresponding temperatures.

For the autoignition, you heat the air+fuel mix slowly and check when it catches fire. For instance Diesel oil has a low autoignition temperature, while high octane shall resist autoignition (and detonation as well).

Above its flash point, the fuel makes vapour concentrated enough that this vapour can sustain a flame in air, whatever the ignition method is - lighter, spark... This is more linked with fuels being volatile, like ether for instance.

-----

To estimate the risk of ignition, the flash point is the primary information. You may check the subtle distinction between "open cup" and "closed cup" flash point, but essentially, if the fuel is:

- Under its flash point, it's hard to light: cold Diesel oil, heating oil, cold cooking oil...