April 26, 2024, 04:34:51 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Azeotrope confusion  (Read 10156 times)

Halma

Azeotrope confusion
« on: January 28, 2006, 07:33:45 AM »

I'm having some trouble understanding azeotropes.

Ethanol and water, for example.  It's supposed to form an azeotrope at 96% ethanol.  At this point, water and ethanol boil together at 78 degrees.  This much I understand.

But what about at other concentrations?  What happens when you boil 98% ethanol?

At a lower concentration, say 50%, only the ethanol would boil?  If so, why is it so hard to get pure ethanol?

I know this is a very basic question, but I'm still learning and I'm a bit confused now.

Thanks

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re:Azeotrope confusion
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2006, 07:41:42 AM »
When mixture boils vapor has different composition then the mixture - but it is never one pure substance. So if your 50% ethanol boils vapor contains over 50% ethanol - thus distillate will have higher concentration. However, vapor over 98% ethanol contains more water then ethanol - in fact what is left after distillation will have slightly higher concentration of ethanol then the original mixture.

At 96% (azeotrope) composition of vapor is identical to the composition of solution - that's azeotrope definition.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Halma

« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2006, 08:55:26 AM »
I see, so the azeotrope point is just the point where the ratio of the compositions in the vapour is the same as in the liquid?

So if I have 98% ethanol, I could make it purer by just boiling it down?  (not distilling)