April 26, 2024, 05:11:14 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Are scientific papers utilised by industry?  (Read 4035 times)

Offline tetrapyrrolic_nick

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Are scientific papers utilised by industry?
« on: March 16, 2013, 10:07:46 PM »
Hi. I am a PhD student of organic chemistry and at the facility where I work quite a few people seem to think that the purpose of a university is to train people to fill roles in industry. I don't like that idea and I think that university research is important for doing intellectual exploration without the restrictions imposed by the necessity of direct profit.
If you have worked for a company in a chemistry-related job can you please tell me if you rely heavily on the literature that is published by university research groups or do you rely on knowledge inside the company or do you get information from some other source?

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
Re: Are scientific papers utilised by industry?
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2013, 08:45:40 AM »
I've never met someone in industry who didn't review scientific journals for published information relevant to their work, and much of that is done by university researchers.  I get your statement, regarding the focus at your university, but I don't see how your question really addresses it.  I also don't know good examples of company inside sources or other sources.
Hey, I'm not judging.  I just like to shoot straight.  I'm a man of science.

Offline DrCMS

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +210/-81
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2013, 02:32:16 PM »
As a process chemist there are few academic papers that are that useful to me.  We might get the starting idea for a new product synthesis from the literature or patents but the details that take it from something that worked in the lab to an industrial process that makes a profit tend to be our own work.

Offline discodermolide

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +405/-70
    • My research history