April 19, 2024, 12:08:51 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: HPLC of porphyrin  (Read 4200 times)

Offline tetrapyrrolic_nick

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
HPLC of porphyrin
« on: March 14, 2013, 11:50:13 PM »
I'm trying to distinguish two porphyrin isomers which each have two carboxylic acid groups on them (no other polar groups) using HPLC. I can't get anything to come through the column! I'm new at HPLC so I need help. I am using acetonitrile and 10mM phosphate buffer at pH 7. I can't get anything to come through the column when I run it in 100% of either solvent or a 50/50 mix. It is a 250 x 4.6 mm, 5 micron particle-size C18 column. I think it might be sticking to the column and not moving but I can't understand why it would do that. Any ideas? Should it move faster in the buffer solution or acetonitrile? Sometimes I got a big peak when I changed to solvent from acetonitrile to buffer and I can't understand that either. Please help me!

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
Re: HPLC of porphyrin
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2013, 09:40:02 AM »
The porphyrins are very large nonpolar groups, so you may have bound them too tightly to elute.  You could try THF, or maybe a less non-polar column, for example a C-8 column.  A phenyl- based column has somewhat more specific binding for aromatic rings, so you might get some different specificity.