April 29, 2024, 12:44:48 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: PhD Research Direction?  (Read 3029 times)

Offline SUNNY_physics

• Mole Snacks: +0/-2
PhD Research Direction?
« on: March 31, 2013, 06:28:01 AM »
I am currently a MS student in physics and would like to further pursue studies in a PhD program. Currently  I've decided that I would like to do my PhD in physical chemistry.

One of the directions I was considering is soft matter science, especially physical colloid and polymer chemistry. I am especially interested in applications to pharmaceuticals and chemical nanotechnology (soft lithography, microfluidics, filtration).

I also thought about electrochemistry and surface science. I believe I don't have enough information on the field of electrochemistry to make a judgment; other than undergrad labs I do not know much about actual experiments in electrochemistry.

Does anyone have experience in physical colloid/polymer chemistry or electrochemistry? What type of analytical instrumentation and fabrication equipment did you use? What was everyday work like? What type of facilities did you work in?

Thank you greatly!
« Last Edit: March 31, 2013, 06:38:56 AM by SUNNY_physics »

Offline curiouscat

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +121/-35
Re: PhD Research Direction?
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2013, 07:19:44 AM »

I also thought about electrochemistry and surface science. I believe I don't have enough information on the field of electrochemistry to make a judgment;

Then you definitely  shouldn't attempt a PhD in that area.

Offline Corribus

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +530/-23
  • A lover of spectroscopy and chocolate.
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2013, 10:46:46 AM »