April 28, 2024, 09:29:50 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: calculating H2S mole fraction in sour gas plant inlet flow  (Read 5872 times)

Offline tinkpen

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
calculating H2S mole fraction in sour gas plant inlet flow
« on: April 05, 2013, 10:18:47 AM »
Hoping someone can help me out with how to calculate the average H2S mole fraction in the inlet gas of a sour natural gas processing plant based on known SO2 emissions, S produced and inlet gas volume.  I have tried using the equation below (provided in a consultant's report) but end up with mole fractions greater than 1 in some cases or a much higher fraction than seems reasonable for inlet gas that should be composed mostly of methane.  If someone could review the equation and let me know where the error could be, it would be greatly appreciated!  I should mention that I am not an engineer or a chemist by trade (science background though) so if anyone is willing to walk me through how this question should be approached so I can understand the theory behind the equation that would also be great.

Here is the equation:

YH2S=(VSTP*(ERSO2/MWSO2 + mS/MWS)*MWH2S*gc)/Qreceipts

where,
YH2S = average mole fraction of H2S in the inlet gas received at a facility (kmol/kmol)
VSTP = volume of one mole of gas at standard conditions of 101.325 kPa and 15oC (m3/kmole) = 23.6444813 m3/kmole
ERSO2 = reported emission rate of SO2 (t/year)
mS = reported production rate of elemental sulphur (t/y)
MWSO2 = molecular weight of SO2 (kg/kmol) = 64.066 kg/kmol
MWS = atomic weight of elemntal sulphur (kg/kmol) = 32.066 kg/kmol
MWH2S = molecular weight of H2S (kg/kmol) = 34.08 kg/kmol
Qreceipts = total field gas receipts (103m3/y)
gc = constant of proportionality = 1

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: calculating H2S mole fraction in sour gas plant inlet flow