March 28, 2024, 09:04:41 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: ITO layers in flat screen monitors  (Read 4963 times)

Offline opsomath

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +50/-8
ITO layers in flat screen monitors
« on: April 16, 2013, 04:27:05 PM »
Hi all, I have some experience working with indium tin oxide (ITO) coated glass surfaces as a transparent electrode. These materials are expensive. It has occurred to me that flat screen LCD monitors contain a pair of ITO electrodes the size of the screen. Flat screen displays which have a failed backlight can usually be found in dumps or for cheap on eBay, and I was wondering if the construction of these devices would make it possible to disassemble them to recover and reuse the sheet electrodes. Are the ITO electrodes in LCD panels printed on glass or plastic? Is the ITO side coated with anything?

Thanks!

Offline Enthalpy

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +304/-59
Re: ITO layers in flat screen monitors
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2013, 09:45:39 PM »
Maybe the proper deposition of ITO is not very cheap, but the material cost is just tin, or nearly nothing in a thin film - ad this is what you would scrap...

Offline opsomath

• Chemist
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2013, 10:01:47 AM »
I'm sorry, I didn't quite get what you were saying. It is common in research to buy glass slides coated with ITO, which cost something like a few hundred dollars for a small package. I was wondering if it might be possible to substitute a part salvaged from a LCD for these parts.

Offline Enthalpy

• Chemist
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2013, 07:51:09 PM »
Oops, thanks for the explanation.