April 26, 2024, 09:57:33 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Testing HPLC  (Read 4844 times)

Offline alchmemist54656

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Testing HPLC
« on: May 15, 2013, 06:12:42 PM »
If I just run my HPLC without injecting a sample and just having the mobile phase go through the column should I get a reading from my device? I thought since the mobile phase doesn't interact with the column material and therefore it should not give a signal to the detector. However, when I just run the mobile phase I get different signals? Why is this so? The column is C18 and the mobile phase consists of Water, Acetonitril, and Triflouroacetic. I'm very new to HPLC and trying to just learn the basics.

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: Testing HPLC
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2013, 02:52:09 AM »
What do you mean by "different signals"? What kind of detector? Do you run isocratic, or gradient elution?
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline alchmemist54656

« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2013, 03:29:16 AM »
Sorry to use the word "signals". I just mean the peaks in the graph. Shouldn't there be no peaks because nothing should be detected? It is a UV detector and i run an isocratic elution. I am very new to HPLC and chromotography in general and am trying to figure things out slowly. Do you recommend any books for me to pick up that will help me in the process?

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
    • Chembuddy
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2013, 04:22:02 AM »
Disclaimer: my experience with HPLC is limited and close to 30 years old, so you better wait for others. No, IMHO you should see no peaks, just a flat background signal.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff