March 29, 2024, 08:32:06 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Anyone know pool chemistry?  (Read 2950 times)

Offline Aggievet98

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Anyone know pool chemistry?
« on: July 16, 2013, 05:58:48 PM »
I am an engineer and studied enough chemistry to suspect what I am being told by a pool equipment manufacturer is wrong.  We have a saltwater pool that uses a titanium plate chlorine generator to produce free chlorine.  We bought a new unit from a new manufacturer 4 months ago.  When the unit is on, it does produce a cloud but our pool has no chlorine in it.  The manufacturer's technicians keep telling us that the problem is not their unit but our pool chemistry.  They maintain that even very low levels of phosphates and nitrates in our pool will 'consume' all the free chlorine or if our pH is off by even a little, the chlorine will somehow be all gone.  So we installed a valve about 1 foot downstream of the titanium cell.  Pulling a sample directly from that source still gives a chlorine level of 0 ppm.  They claim the nitrates and phosphates (even at less than 100 ppm for phos and less than 10 for nitrates) can instantly cause all the chlorine to be consumed or somehow inactivated to not show up on a test strip.  This doesn't seem plausible to me but I am not a chemist and do not want to assume anything.  Does anyone know enough about pool chemistry to answer this question?  I have tried pool forums but no one really understands the chemistry and is just using pool company talking points.

Offline magician4

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +70/-11
Re: Anyone know pool chemistry?
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2013, 10:57:24 PM »
before we go into details: what would the pH of your "untreated" water be ?  (as this is the most important factor for "chlorine"-solubility)

if we're talking natural seawater, it should be around 8,0 , i.e. a littel on the alkaline side