April 20, 2024, 02:15:55 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Help Validating free energy calculation for my methanogeneis reaction  (Read 2398 times)

Offline jakkaas

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Hello everyone,
                        I am Mustafa Vohra, working on a project involving CO2 sequestration and methane production from coal. My works includes understanding microbial syntrophy in my consortia and production of methane from coal. I am microbiologist by nature and have some calculations of free energy for my reactions. After going through literature, I have finally calculated the free energy for my reactions but I need to validate it. So I am requesting you to go through my calculations and check for its correctness. Please don’t mind for some naïve questions since I am not an expert in it. Any help, suggestion, reference, guidance appreciated.

1)   Calculation of partial pressure and mmoles of gases.
I do analysis of gas (CH4, H2 and CO2) with the help of GC. From the area, I calculate % of gas.
Eg.
•   After 30 days of analysis, CH4 = 2.042% = % 0.02042
•   The gauge pressure measured from needle manometer, after 30 days in bottle = 0.5 psi
             Now 1 atm pressure =101.3 KPa =760mm Hg = 14.7 psi
             Therefore, 0.5 psi = 0.5 x 101.3 = 3.44 KPa
•   Absolute total pressure (PT) = Gauge pressure, KPa + Atmospheric pressure, KPa
                                                 = 3.44 KPa + 101.3 KPa
                                                 = 104.74 KPa
•   CH4 gas partial pressure (PCH4)
             PCH4 = % CH4 x PT
             = 0.02042 x 104.74
             = 2.138 KPa

My question is, whether in the calculations of partial pressure, should I include total pressure or guage pressure?

2)   Thermodynamic calculations

Consider the following reaction
CH3COO- + H+ + 4H2O = 2HCO3+ + 2H+ + 4H2O

Calculation of ΔG
ΔG = ΔGo + RT ln {[HCO3+]2 [H+]2 [pH2]4 /  [CH3COO-] [H+]   }