April 18, 2024, 10:50:15 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: turn Bac 50 into Physan 20 equivalent  (Read 6513 times)

Offline Caltonbanks

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
turn Bac 50 into Physan 20 equivalent
« on: June 11, 2013, 04:48:54 PM »
Hi All

Before I start I should mention that I am not a scientist or a mathematician so it would be greatly appreciated if any answers are kept in laymans terms.

I have orchids in my garden and they are suffering from a downy mildew problem. I also have lots of moss and algea (and possibly many other garden nasties) in the garden.

As any gardener will tell you, downy mildew is really hard to shift  :(

Having done some research I found what is supposed to be a brilliant product for treating many fungal problems, Physan 20 (see link: http://www.physan.com/Resources/Physan%2020-DRUM-EPA-2010-2cl.pdf ). But, this product is not available in the UK and it would take weeks for me to have it shipped from the US. By this time all my plants could be dead.

Anyway, I was told on another forum that this (BAC 50 see link: http://mistralni.co.uk/products/c10-c16-alkyl-dimethyl-benzyl-ammonium-chloride-ba ) is the active ingredient in physan 20 and it will do the same job.

However, I now face another problem, which brings me to my question. How do I dilute BAC 50 down to the same strenght as Physan 20?

P.S. I know this is a science forum not a gardening/chemistry forum, but I dont really feel safe asking a gardener how to dilute chemical concentrates.  ;D

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
Re: turn Bac 50 into Physan 20 equivalent
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2013, 06:05:06 PM »