March 28, 2024, 01:53:55 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Temp, Ratios,time  (Read 2941 times)

Offline NotTooBrightTonight

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Temp, Ratios,time
« on: July 06, 2013, 04:14:06 AM »
Please do not flame me because I am new to chemistry, as well as this forum, Anyway I need to know when performing a chemical reaction, how to know how much reagent to use and at what temperature to re flux, and how long to re flux it for and why! is there a universal method to knowing this. and how would one apply this to a real chemical reaction. thank you for your help. sincerely NotTooBrightTonight :P
« Last Edit: July 06, 2013, 06:37:30 AM by Arkcon »

Offline sjb

• Global Moderator
  • Mole Snacks: +222/-42
Re: Temp, Ratios,time
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2013, 04:48:03 AM »
Please do not flame me because I am new to chemistry, as well as this forum, Anyway I need to know when performing a chemical reaction, how to know how much reagent to use and at what temperature to re flux, and how long to re flux it for and why! is there a universal method to knowing this. and how would one apply this to a real chemical reaction. thank you for your help. sincerely NotTooBrightTonight :P

At one level, you stir, cook, etc until it's done. How do you know when your reaction is complete?

On a different level, look to see if your reaction has been reported in the literature and base your conditions on that.

Offline curiouscat

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +121/-35
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2013, 05:09:11 AM »

how to know how much reagent to use

Depends. How much product do you want to make? Stoichometric proportions is a good start.

Cheap reagent is typically used in excess.

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2013, 06:37:54 AM »
is there a universal method to knowing this.