April 28, 2024, 10:11:27 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: How increasing conc. of NaCl lowers the pH of phosphate buffer?  (Read 4646 times)

Offline suneyna

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Hi,

I am a doctorate student and was recently working with phosphate buffer solution(1M).
To my surprise, when I started adding NaCl in increasing order of concentration i.e. from 0.1M, 0.2M, 0.3M,
0.4M to 0.5M solutions. I started reading decrease in the pH value of the buffer.

While being NaCl neutral in nature, I was expecting no change in the pH of buffer solution on addition of NaCl. So, I started searching for any documented research article for the same but didn't able to find them.

Please if anyone can explain what is going on to the buffer capacity on addition of NaCl, It would be of great help to me. I request if someone have any idea about any research article for the same, please forward me the link.

Thanks
Suneyna

Offline UG

• Mole Snacks: +134/-15
Re: How increasing conc. of NaCl lowers the pH of phosphate buffer?
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2013, 06:43:56 AM »
Because you are increasing the ionic strength of the solution

Offline Babcock_Hall

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +322/-22
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2013, 10:25:56 AM »
Others here might be able to give a more comprehensive answer, but I will add my two cents.  Thermodynamic pKa values are tabulated as if the process were happening with an ionic strength of zero.  However, practical pKa values are sometimes also reported at various ionic strengths.  Ionic strength affects the activities of the chemical species.  Robert Scopes' book "Protein Purification" discusses this effect on pp. 238-241 of the second edition.  Phosphate and citrate buffers are strongly affected by ionic strength.  Tris is less affected by ionic strength, but is more affected by temperature, for example.

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410