April 24, 2024, 12:44:52 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: hydrogenation of a dibenzylester of a phosphonate on Pd/C  (Read 8308 times)

Offline Babcock_Hall

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +321/-22
hydrogenation of a dibenzylester of a phosphonate on Pd/C
« on: July 18, 2013, 10:19:10 AM »
I am trying to duplicate something a student did some years ago, which is to remove two benzyl protecting groups from a diester of a phosphonate.  The phosphonate has an oxygen that has the trichloromethanesulfonyl leaving group, RO2P(O)CH2OSO2CCl3.  He used Pd/C and ethanol as the solvent, and he used 40 psi for an hour, but he did not indicate the volume of solvent or the amount of catalyst.  I did a little bit of literature searching, and I found a reference that used 50 psi in a deprotection of a derivative of pyrophosphate.

This is my first time running such a reaction.  Any thoughts on how best to proceed?  Thank you.

Offline discodermolide

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +405/-70
    • My research history
Re: hydrogenation of a dibenzylester of a phosphonate on Pd/C
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2013, 10:23:50 AM »
Just try a normal hydrogenation, with 5% 0r 10% Pd/C and see how it goes.
Development Chemists do it on Scale, Research Chemists just do it!
My Research History

Offline Babcock_Hall

• Chemist
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2013, 10:33:54 AM »
Thanks.  I made this compound using a sulfinylating agent (trichloromethanesulfinyl chloride) that is no longer commercially available, so it is quite precious (I have roughly a gram).  I also have a few milligrams of material I obtained from a back extraction (it has more color, but it produced good P-31 and H-1 NMR spectra).  I am contemplating using this material first or splitting the sample in half, but the jars for the Parr apparatus are very large (they look as if they are about 500 mL bottles), and I don't know if having a relatively large solvent volume will be a problem.  I am considering using 50-100 mL of ethanol.