April 18, 2024, 05:28:21 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Photosynthesis chemical reaction  (Read 4927 times)

Offline TheNH7

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-1
Photosynthesis chemical reaction
« on: July 25, 2013, 04:40:19 AM »
Hello, I'm a 12th grader without any knowledge of chemistry from school, nor have done any external reading about any material involving chemistry. I'm a student in a program by Ness Technologies and our main goal is a start-up idea. My group's idea involves the chemical reaction of the carbon dioxide and water molecules in the photosynthesis process in plants, rather how does it trigger, what causes it to trigger and what happens during the process. I've managed to find some reaserches about the process but I really don't understand parts of equations and explanations that they give, therefore if you could try to simplify your answer I would appreciate it very much.
Thanks! TheNH7.

Online Hunter2

• Mole Snacks: +166/-48
  • Vena Lausa moris pax drux bis totis
Re: Photosynthesis chemical reaction
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2013, 05:27:19 AM »
Simplyfied : 6 molecules of carbon dioxide and 6 molecules of water will be react by nature (god hands with sunlight beams) to sugar (glucose) and 6 molecules of oxygen.

6 CO2 + 6 H2O => C6H12O6 + 6 O2

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2013, 06:05:15 AM »
Hello, I'm a 12th grader without any knowledge of chemistry from school,

That's OK, everybody has to start from somewhere.  A little odd 'tho, that you haven't had chemistry yet.  What science have you had?  Even in junior high, or grammar school?  You can use that information now, you know.

nor have done any external reading about any material involving chemistry.

Well ... try that.  If you want useful answers.  That is answers, you can use.

I'm a student in a program by Ness Technologies and our main goal is a start-up idea.