April 28, 2024, 02:08:33 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Help with understanding a Boc-protection and deprotection of an amine  (Read 9602 times)

Offline amg

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Hi! So I'm new to an organic chemistry lab, and one of the first reactions I had to set up and run was a BOC protection. I'm trying to understand the mechanism of the reaction.

I used:
N-benzylglycine hydrochloride (being protected)
Triethylamine
Di-tert-Butylcarbonate (BOC group)
Water
HCl

After stirring the first four ingredients for a few hours, an aqueous HCl solution was added until the pH was 2. Why would I need to add the HCl? And in the deprotection, we also add HCl...why does it work in the protecting and deprotecting?? Any help at all will be greatly appreciated!

Offline PhDoc

• Mole Snacks: +22/-0
  • O-Chem Prof
    • PH.D. Organic Chemistry Tutor
amg,

It's important that you demonstrate reasonable effort in showing that you've attempted to understand your experiment. For your own convenience in being guided to that understanding, please make two lists. First, the list of all reagents and quantities (mmol) used for the BOC protection, and second a comparable list for the deprotection. How do these two lists differ?

Also, it's very important that you are cognizant of the Lewis structure of each and every reagent used in the experiment.
O-Chem Prof

Offline amg

For protection:
N-Benzylglycine hydrochloride: 24.7954 mM
Triethylamine:54.5499 mM
Di-tert-butylcarbonate:29.7545 mM
Water:250 mL

I never performed a deprotection, I simply had it explained to me - probably part of why I'm so confused. I only know that HCl is involved.