April 29, 2024, 12:03:34 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: self-teaching/formal training in chemistry  (Read 5383 times)

Offline summoner

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
self-teaching/formal training in chemistry
« on: August 15, 2013, 05:47:07 PM »
Hi, I've seen a few discussions about self-teaching but nothing on point and was hoping I could get some guidance about both substantive matters and chemistry department culture.

I am a PhD student in Environmental Studies, with a focus on environmental psychology.  As part of my research I need to have a good grounding in environmental chemistry, particularly as it relates to water pollution, as in actually do some original research on the matter, including taking measurements (though I won't have to run the chemical tests).  Problem is, I haven't had a chemistry class since high school, which was 2 decades ago.  I have been trying to convince my advisor to let me take the basic general chemistry course for a while, with no luck, as he/she thinks I should learn it on my own or by auditing higher-level chemistry courses.

Honestly since this stuff will be showing up in my dissertation, I want to have more than a surface knowledge about it; I want to be able to discuss it intelligently with people who have chemistry backgrounds, teach the basics to undergrads, etc..  I am not sure how to proceed, though.

So, to sum it up, my three questions:

1.  The forums provide good suggestions about self-study materials, but I am not exactly sure what subfields I should focus on for the purposes of learning what I need to know.  General chemistry, certainly, and environmental chemistry, too, but how far should I get into biochemistry?  And is the lab component in formal classes an integral part of the process of understanding the subject?  Would I be missing out on not having that?