April 19, 2024, 03:35:26 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Large Excess of Reagent: Why? Does this make sense to Organic Chemists?  (Read 17518 times)

Offline curiouscat

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +121/-35
I found this paper's abstract intriguing, almost ridiculous but was wondering what others think:

"Phthalaldehyde and 1,4-cyclohexanedione react in the 2:1 molar ratio via a crossed aldol condensation in sub- and supercritical water to produce 6,13-pentacenequinone. The reaction conditions were optimized at 77% yield at 250 °C for 60 min with the starting molar ratio of 2:1:800 for phthalaldehyde, 1,4-cyclohexanedione and water, respectively."

Why would anyone try a reaction in a 800x solvent excess. Does this make sense, as a chemist? As an engineer I find it hard to believe this can ever be workable commercially, just due to the large excess of water.

Looking that the authors published in the journal "Green Chemistry" I'd assume they imply some utility to this scheme, not merely the science of it?

http://pubs.rsc.org/en/Content/ArticleLanding/2009/GC/b914784p

Have others have had a chance to carry out a reaction with a 800x excess of solvent ever? (Even adjusting for the molar -> mass fractions that's still like working at 0.5% concentrations)

Offline discodermolide

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +405/-70
    • My research history
Re: Large Excess of Reagent: Why? Does this make sense to Organic Chemists?
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2013, 02:49:30 PM »
Well I can't read the paper but 800 X excess of solvent seems to be somewhat excessive.
Perhaps they are trying to be greener than green?
Development Chemists do it on Scale, Research Chemists just do it!
My Research History

Offline curiouscat

• Chemist
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2013, 03:02:44 PM »
Well I can't read the paper but 800 X excess of solvent seems to be somewhat excessive.
Perhaps they are trying to be greener than green?

Thanks!