April 26, 2024, 01:25:23 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: changing properties of water  (Read 3178 times)

Offline ona

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-1
changing properties of water
« on: August 23, 2013, 11:40:00 PM »
I need help. I know nothing about chemistry. Trying to learn but it is all self taught.
My question to you if you can answer it, Is there a chemical or a combination of chemicals that has a cold  constant temperature
say 30-50 degrees fahrenheit? Is there a chemical that could be added to water to raise its freezing point to 50-70 degrees? Simply put I want a chemical that stays cold like ice(or close to it say 30- 50 degrees) in a constant external environment temperature of 90 degrees and stay that way at least for 5 hours. It seems like I am asking for the moon with my ignorance of chemistry.
« Last Edit: August 24, 2013, 03:24:16 AM by Borek »

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: changing properties of water
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2013, 03:32:36 AM »
Simply put I want a chemical that stays cold like ice(or close to it say 30- 50 degrees) in a constant external environment temperature of 90 degrees and stay that way at least for 5 hours.

Poorly defined problem (and most likely without a satisfying solution). If you take a cubic mile of water and put it in a 90 deg F environment for several hours, you won't be able to notice any temperature change. If you take a single mL of water and put it in a 90 deg F environment, it will heat up to the environment temperature in minutes, unless isolated in a Dewar flask. So, which one are you aiming at?

Not to mention the fact you can't raise the freezing point, you can only lower it.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147