April 19, 2024, 05:09:25 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: General Chemistry 1  (Read 3535 times)

Offline Technologic

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
General Chemistry 1
« on: August 29, 2013, 05:51:57 PM »
Hi I'm new here,

I'm currently studying w/in a premedical track at my university.

Math background:
• I completed Introduction to Algebra and received an "A."
• I just completed Intermediate Algebra and received an "A."
• I will now be taking precalculus this semester.

Chemistry background:
• Last chem class taken was more than 5 years ago in high school, but I received an "A" in it.

My university offers Introductory Chemistry (remedial course), and a General Chemistry 1A course.

Introductory Chemistry                   
• Doesn't count toward credit.
• No prerequisites required.
• No Lab
• Topics will include chemical formulas and equations, stoichiometry, descriptive inorganic chemistry, behavior of gases and atomic structure.

General Chemistry
• Counts toward 4 credits
• Prerequisite: students should have a previous or concurrent Precalculus course.
• Lab is required.
• The primary concepts to be explored include stoichiometry, chemical reactions, thermochemistry, gases, atomic and molecular structure.

Brief information: My professor sent everyone an email since school starts next week, and she said that if students are "weak" in algebra then she advises students to take intro to chem. I completed both Intro to Algebra and Intermediate Algebra and got an A in both classes. When she refers to "algebra" it just seems a bit vague b/c there's a few algebra courses (Intro to Algebra and Intermediate Algebra), and then there's a precalculus course (I'm assuming this is similar to algebra 3?). So when she says algebra, I want to know which algebra does students have to fully understand before taking General Chemistry IA???